About the DOCMS

> Durham-Orange County Medical Society



  • Fosters camaraderie within our professional community;
  • Advocates for our profession, our patients, and the public health;
  • Cultivates leadership in medicine; and
  • Bridges diverse medical communities and the populations they serve

Brief History

The Durham County Medical Society was founded in 1905, with N.M. Johnson, MD, serving as its first president. Also in that year, the Orange County Medical Society was created and led by I.H. Manning, MD. In 1914, the two counties merged to create the Durham-Orange County Medical Society. Today the DOCMS has over 1,000 members from throughout the Triangle area, from academic to practicing physicians, physician assistants, residents and medical students. Come join our ranks! Click here to join or renew.


Khalil Tanas, MD

Ron Laney, MD

Marian E. Cranford, PA-C

Immediate Past President
Holly Biola, MD, MPH, FAAFP

Directors at-Large

John Beaudry, PA-C
Keely Godwin, MD
David Gregg, MD
Karishma Habbu, MD
Nancy Henley, MD, MPH
Charlie Monteiro, MD
Quinette Jones, MHS, MSW, PA-C
Bradford B. Walters, MD, PhD, MBA

UNC Medical Students Representatives
Ben Thompson & Megan Williams

Duke Medical Students Representatives:
Ben Streufert & Godofrey Chery